Lots of stuff occurring

Wow, I’ve got a lot going on at the moment. I’ve just opened a work email which told me I have 5.5 hours of online training to complete… Well, that’s a problem for another day. Right now, I want to tell you about much more fun stuff!


Number 1.

If you head over to Melissa Ann Goodwin’s blog, you’ll see a wonderful interview with me!

Melissa asked me some really interesting questions about my books, my writing, and my motivations. Please visit and leave a comment.

Melissa will be taking part in my interview series here later this year.


Number 2.

I received this wonderful 5* review from The Wishing Shelf this morning, which put a skip in my step on a dull and cold Monday morning.

It’s not often I get pulled instantly into a novel. But that was the case in this intriguingly entitled novel, One Tuesday, Early. It’s the story of Lexi and her partner, Finn. It’s Tuesday morning and Lexi finds herself in an empty town – and when I say ‘empty’, there’s nobody there; nobody! Finn, however, is oddly not affected by this phenomenon, waking up and simply finding Lexi’s not there! It’s all very confusing – deliciously so. What follows is a character-led drama as we follow Lexi exploring the empty streets and Finn who thinks Lexi must have left him.

There were a number of aspects of this novel I particularly enjoyed. Firstly, I love the way the author developed the way Lexi feels. As she so aptly puts it – It’s a ball and a fist and a whimper and a yell. All swallowed down and shackled within you. The author is adept at putting over her protagonist’s feelings, developing the suspense along the way.

Secondly, I enjoyed the pacing; it’s oddly slow – which is normally a bad thing – but not here, the author in no rush to ‘reveal all’; and that is the novel’s biggest strength. Thirdly, the writing style is wonderful – atmospheric, richly descriptive with strong, thought-provoking dialogue.

So, who’s this book for? Well, I suspect readers who enjoy a good mystery will find this story a blast. They’ll also enjoy getting to know Lexi and Finn and rooting for them to find a way of reuniting. I remember enjoying another book by this author, Small Forgotten Moments, which was excellent too (and also a bit creepy). But I think this latest book is even better.

‘A smartly plotted psychological drama packed full of mystery – and suspense. Highly recommended!’ – The Wishing Shelf


Number 3

And finally, if you’re local to me or you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know I’m going on ‘tour’. Why is ‘tour’ in quote marks, you ask? Because it’s a very small tour of my hometown, where One Tuesday, Early is set. Ten local businesses have opened their doors and welcomed me inside.

I’ll be at:

  • 4 cafe/coffee shops
  • 2 beauty salons
  • 1 library – for an ‘in conversation’ event with the library manager
  • 1 book shop
  • 1 book club
  • and 1 microbakery

You can learn more about the tour via the Facebook event page.



    And breathe…

    1715641200

      days

      hours  minutes  seconds

    until

    One Tuesday, Early is released

    8 thoughts on “Lots of stuff occurring

    1. How amazing and what fun! I can’t even imagine the stores around Burbank doing that for me! lol Props to your continuously inventive marketing efforts, Annalisa!

      Like

      1. Thank you. A couple of years ago I joined a local women in business group on Facebook who promote each other and meet for coffee once a month. I just asked one day for help and so many lovely people said yes. We have a fantastic community.

        Liked by 1 person

    Thanks for reading. I'd love to know what you think.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.